First Trip Back

After ten weeks (the length of his college’s academic quarter), he was back home.  This was his first time flying back on his own.  I know he can figure out everything (he is in college after all), it’s not like he’s going to take the wrong train going the opposite direction, but still…

His school in Hanover, New Hampshire is a couple of hours from Logan International Airport in Boston.  I got him a flight later in the afternoon to account for possible delays.  With the New England weather, we can never be sure.  This was also the Monday of Thanksgiving week where everyone seems to be on the move. Thankfully, there were no weather delays and he got to the airport as scheduled with more than two hours before his flight.

I thought I was a figure-it-out-on-your-own kinda parent.  I bought his ticket and then emailed it to him. That’s it.  Everything else, he needed to figure out. He was going to be home for six weeks, so he needed to make sure that he leaves his dorm room clean. He also needed to download the Jetblue app to check-in 24-hours prior, pay for his checked-in luggage, be at the bus terminal on time, and go through TSA (without leaving anything behind).  He did it! I picked him from SFO at 10PM. Nothing to it.

Funny how I think that the only thing I did was send him the ticket.  That I just waited for his text to say that he was at the curb at SFO ready to be picked up. I looked at our text messages before he took that coach and, who was I kidding?!?! I could have well been there with him telling him what to do!

He did respond, “Yes”to my reminders. That’s a good thing.

Notice that there was no response when I told him to bring food from the cafeteria? Well, he learned the expensive way. He was shocked to find out that a plate of pasta costs $27 in the airport? Guess who’s going to baon next time?

About Teacher Tina

I have been a teacher for more than 15 years in the Philippines and the United States. Teaching is a vocation that I am grateful to have embraced. It certainly prepared me for motherhood.

Leave a comment