Thanksgiving

Teaching the concept of gratitude is challenging.

In an environment where everything is in abundance, it is easy to take things for granted.

I find it difficult to describe to my children what an austere life may look like because meals are always on time, clean and well-pressed clothes are in their closets, and the temperature at home never goes lower than 67F.

But I realize that unless my children understand that there are families who sleep in makeshift stalls and eat only once a day because of poverty, my children will not appreciate what they have.

As we celebrate the American Thanksgiving tradition of turkey and fix-ins, we also remember who and what we are thankful for.

Our list is long and at the top of that list is family, but we are thankful for our friends (both new and old), a roof over our heads, good health, and food on the table (even if it is eggplant and brown rice). The list goes on and on…

As my son aptly puts it (when he is sleepy and I am bugging him to say his prayers), “I am thankful for everything!”

Our collection of Thanksgiving art projects

I think that teaching the concept of gratitude is challenging because I get caught up with routine that I take things for granted myself.  I am sure it would be easier, if only a little bit,  if I were to model this behavior every single day.

About Teacher Tina

I have been a teacher for more than 15 years in the Philippines and the United States. Teaching is a vocation that I am grateful to have embraced. It certainly prepared me for motherhood.

Leave a Reply

