Beautiful Blogger Award

Thank you to Corporate Housekeeping for nominating me for the Beautiful Blogger Award.

Your entries make working, taking care of kids, and blogging look so easy.  I love that I can feel your passion in the random things that you talk about.  I certainly admire the places that your adventures take you.  Some of these places I have been to as a child, or I have seen pictures or postcards of, but your stories make the places more meaningful. Keep up the good work, fcg!

Here are the rules for this award:

  1. Post seven interesting things about myself
  2. Nominate other bloggers who I feel deserve the award
  3. Let them know about the nomination

“Interesting” is a word that I frequently use with my students when I want them to include more details to their writing or artwork.  I think we can all agree that these are just trivial facts about me…

  1. I am a certified open water scuba diver. Growing up in a country that boasts of world-class beaches, I just had to. My intro drive was in Palawan with one of the marine biologists of Palawan State University.  I have never tasted fresher oysters than those we brought up to the surface to eat.  My last dive was several years ago in Kauai.  Maybe the dive master chose a bad spot, but that spot in Kauai did not compare AT ALL to the marine life in the Philippines! In Tagalog, walang binatbat.
  2. I took ballet lessons from kindergarten until junior high.  I loved it.  Then, my mom thought that I should concentrate on piano instead.  I can read notes and play, but not at all at the level of someone who has had 4 years of piano lessons.
  3. I have numerous scars from biking accidents, but I don’t know how to ride a bike.  After a fall, I ended up in the ER with a doctor whose bedside manners were lacking.  That may have sealed the fate of biking for me.
  4. My goal is to have an empty refrigerator.  An empty refrigerator means I did an excellent job planning my daily menu and buying grocery.
  5. I do not like roller coasters.  I enjoyed them when I was younger, but not anymore.  In theme parks, I stick to Star Wars ride, bump cars, and lazy river.  My daughter still keeps me company because she isn’t tall enough to ride the big ones yet.  Soon, I will be left by my lonesome eating churros and turkey leg waiting for everyone to come back from Log Jam.
  6. I like salty food more than sweet.
  7. I still speak with a Batangas accent (puntong Batangueno–ano ga?!!) when I talk to my siblings, or to anyone who speaks to me with that accent.

Here are some of the blogs that I follow and try to read regularly.  They are listed in no particular order.

  1. Czech the Flip
  2. Domestic Urbanite
  3. Moms Run San Jose
  4. Sexy Cuisine
  5. Diana Does Food
  6. Bunny and Pork Belly
  7. Reena Reigns
  8. Slapp Shot
  9. Over 50 Under 5
  10. Life Prints

About Teacher Tina

I have been a teacher for more than 15 years in the Philippines and the United States. Teaching is a vocation that I am grateful to have embraced. It certainly prepared me for motherhood.

5 responses »

  1. you are welcome. i love your blog xoxoxo we actually have a lot of things in common. i also like salty more than sweet and i’m not a fan of roller coasters but my boys are, so when they do manage to convince me to ride with them i scream so much louder!!

    Reply
    • You beat me to letting you know that I acknowledged you for the award. I just had time to post it earlier, but didn’t have time to inform everyone of the nominations yet.

      I am pretty firm with my “no” on roller coasters. They have tried (husband included) but have not succeeded.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Beautiful Blogger Award Post « dianadoesfood

  3. Thanks for listing Over 50 Under 5! I’ll check out the other blogs, too.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Beautiful Blogger Award « LIFE is a journey!

Leave a Reply

