To Give

More than a million people in and around Metro Manila battle deadly floods as more rain falls, with neck-deep waters trapping both slum dwellers and the wealthy elite on rooftops. –Philippine Daily Inquirer August 10, 2012

Early this week I was glued to online news reports about the status of the Filipinos in Manila.  From what I understand, there was a typhoon that passed Manila, which brought tremendous amount of rainfall, but it was the monsoon rains that came soon after that pushed the floodwater to a record-breaking level.

CNN Photo

I grew up in the Philippines and left only a decade ago.  I know for a fact that an all-nighter steady rain could easily result to flooding in low areas.  What the Philippine capital experienced this week was more than a steady drizzle, it was torrential monsoon rains that lasted for many days.  I  have never seen flooding of this magnitude when I was still living there.

CNN Photo

But Filipinos are known for their ability to quickly come together and mobilize support for those affected.  Volunteers and donations came pouring in immediately.  Two Jesuit educational institutions that I highly regard—Ateneo de Manila University and Xavier School quickly organized their faculty and students to collect, pack, and distribute relief goods to those who were displaced by the flood.

Photos courtesy of Cindy H Lau

This coming together as a community to work for a common good is something that I hope my children would experience countless times in their lifetime.  I hope that they understand the importance of giving to those in need.   In a land where everything is abundant and being displaced seem far-fetched, this is a challenge.

To those who would like to donate to the flood victims, here is the link:  https://www.phjesuits.org/pjf/share.php  Tick the box–Task Force Noah:  Operation Habagat.  AMDG

About Teacher Tina

I have been a teacher for more than 15 years in the Philippines and the United States. Teaching is a vocation that I am grateful to have embraced. It certainly prepared me for motherhood.

Leave a Reply

