Movies and Kids

I watched the Katy Perry movie with my son.   Before you judge me, I want you to know that I did my due diligence and checked the overall rating, language, and sexual content in:

The comments I read convinced me that although it may not be the best movie to watch, it wasn’t the worst either.

My son had been begging me to allow him watch the movie since he found out that Katy Perry was documenting her concert tour.  When my husband and I read the reviews and saw that there was nothing objectionable, we agreed that we were going to be hip and let him watch it.

I volunteered to chaperone my son and his classmate on a Monday morning show.  If you are watching with kids, I recommend catching the first show of the day.  The theater is clean, and you have the place all to yourselves.

The two 8-year olds sang to their hearts’ delight.  They were slurping Icee and munching popcorn in between belting Hot N Cold.  They were singing like they were in a karaoke bar!  For the two kids, the movie was just one big sing-along/MTV.

__________________________________

Earlier in the week, my son asked permission to call a classmate who happens to be a girl.  I thought it was to arrange a play date at the pool.  I was surprised to hear my son invite her to watch the Katy Perry movie!  My ears pricked up.   She agreed.

Did my son just invite a girl to the movies?!?!

I think my son knows that no one in his immediate circle of (boy) friends likes Katy Perry as much as he does.  It is therefore, perfectly understandable to invite a friend who just happened to be a girl, to watch the movie with him.

This is what I am telling my friends who are teasing me about how my son has just pulled off his first date before third grade.

This is happening too fast.  I don’t think I am ready for this.

About Teacher Tina

I have been a teacher for more than 15 years in the Philippines and the United States. Teaching is a vocation that I am grateful to have embraced. It certainly prepared me for motherhood.

2 responses »

  1. Mylene Noche-Gallagher

    I can’t believe your son had his first date already! You handled it well!

    Reply
    • Thank you. Although I really don’t count it as a first date because the moms still paid for everything.

      I will be my son’s first date–he will take me out to dinner or movies and he will use his own Christmas or birthday money. I think we still have a long way to go.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

