How to set the table

For Filipinos, preparing a meal is a time to gather around the kitchen to help each other cook, and catch up on the day’s events.

This is also the children’s first introduction to cooking. It has been said that when young children participate in food preparation, they will more likely eat and enjoy the home-cooked meal.

My very first job in the kitchen was setting the table. When I was old enough to hold a knife, I graduated to prepping the food. After I’ve learned the secret recipes and the shortcuts from my parents, I became the head chef. By this time I didn’t have to cook a lot, I was only cooking for me, my parents, a couple of siblings, and sometimes, a guest or two.

Preparing a meal requires everyone’s help.

I cook.

My children set the table.

My husband does the dishes.

It is a project in which everyone in the family participates.

Here’s a refresher on how to set the table:

About Teacher Tina

I have been a teacher for more than 15 years in the Philippines and the United States. Teaching is a vocation that I am grateful to have embraced. It certainly prepared me for motherhood.

6 responses »

  1. I didn’t know that “servilletas” was table napkin. Thanks!

    Reply
    • It may be of Spanish origin (the Philippines was colonized by Spain for 300 years). Come to think of it, I haven’t heard anyone (other than my family) call napkins, “servilletas”.

      Reply
      • Servilleta is a Spanish word of French origin (serviette). Servilleta is also used in Ilocano…didn’t realize it was Tagalog as well. Manny says Maia is quite fluent in Spanish !🙂

      • Aha! That was where we got it then. I knew it was a Spanish word of French origin but was wondering why it was just us (my family) who used it. Never heard anyone else.

        It did not come from my Batangas side then but from my Ilocos roots (father).

        Thanks for clearing that up, Cecile!

  2. She’s so cute! Ang cute nyo din ni Chino! I will totally apply my learnings from your blog when my baby grows up.
    It is so interesting how the spoon is a must for Filipinos. I always set the table with a spoon which my husband never uses (of Eastern European origin). He says all he needs is the fork. I figure we always use a spoon coz we always have rice and usually sabaw right?

    Reply
    • I am glad that you find the blog helpful. This comment totally made my day. Thanks🙂.

      My son still uses spoon; my daughter is trying to eat with just a fork. But when sinigang is served, spoons are out!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

