How to Ride a Bike

I watched my daughter ride her pushbike today.  For those who are not familiar with a pushbike, it is a bike without crank and pedals; you push along with your feet.

She has gone around the block in her bamboo pushbike many times before, but this is the first time that she has done it, and actually gotten far.

She sat on the seat, and then partly walked-partly ran (picture how the Flintstones did it with their car); and when she had her momentum, she extended her legs to maintain her balance.

             

After a few runs, she rushed back to the house with her brother in tow, demanding that the training wheels of the bigger bike hanging in the garage be taken out.

Her older brother excitedly agreed with her and said, “Mom, she is ready for the big bike!”   (I will explain in a future post why he is just as excited as his sister!)

Ninong (godfather) Eric especially made her bamboo pushbike when we were in Manila.  My brother, Eric, makes bamboo bike frames and has a workshop in Lipa, Batangas.  As a Christmas present to his inaanak (godchild), he made my daughter her very own bamboo bike with pretty purple wheels.

Bringing it back to the US was a cinch:  once the handlebar was removed from the frame, the whole bike fit perfectly in a large suitcase.  A simple wrench was the only tool used.

When I complained about gas prices reaching $4.45 not so long ago, my brother offered to make me an electric bamboo bike.

    Electric Eric 350 watt. First Electric Bike in the Philippines.

Not shabby, I thought…if only I knew how to ride a bike.

About Teacher Tina

I have been a teacher for more than 15 years in the Philippines and the United States. Teaching is a vocation that I am grateful to have embraced. It certainly prepared me for motherhood.

4 responses »

  1. Pushbike is also becoming popular in Tokyo. They say it is easier to learn to balance than the traditional two small wheels attached to the hind wheels. I wish it is not too late for me to learn to ride🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks for sharing. I am glad to know that I am not the only grown up who does not know how to ride a bike. I may have to try my son’s bike and see if I can learn the way my daughter did–pushing along with my feet and then balance. Let’s keep each other posted on this.

      Thanks for reading the blog.

      Reply
  2. Tina and Ime, the best way to learn to ride a bike is by ignoring the pedals first and concentrating on balancing which shouldn’t be a problem. The only difference in balancing between a scooter and a bike is that you’re seated on the bike while you’re standing on the scooter. It’s never too late to learn and your only regret will be that you didn’t learn sooner.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

